Sigh … still searching for the right comic book artist

So I’ve been looking for a comic book artist to work with for some time now, with no luck.  I actually got a lot of responses from a craigslist post, but most of them didn’t care that I made it explicitly clear it is not superhero work; another 25% were graphic artists who don’t even read the posts, and just send resumes to any post under the “art” category; the rest just didn’t feel right, after looking at art samples – way too much manga influence in many of them.  So, anyway, I am still looking for someone who would want to work on a project.  The goal would be to get 1-2 issues done and submit it to Drawn and Quarterly, Fantagraphics, and a few others; sadly, the smaller indy publishers need you to already have your team together, rather than be able to pair you with an artist. 

The script I have is a non-fiction biography of someone, and it would be a mini-series about 8-12 issues in length, depending on the size of each issue, how much creative exploration the artist wants to do, and so forth.  Ideally, I would love to find someone who isn’t necessarily wanting to just draw what was in the script, and instead would feel free to creatively explore and experiment, really take advantage of the medium.  However, at this point, it is by no means a requisite, as I simply want to get the thing done. 

I know – I just frickin know – that someone like D&Q would pick it up and publish it; I read a lot of their books, and it is right along the lines of their material.  I’m just really confident in the story – if it were a “maybe” story (as far as the liklihood it would get picked up) I would say so, but this one isn’t – I really feel like it would be near a sure thing one of the indy companies would take it.  I’d also like to submit it for a Xeric Grant, if it became possible.  Maybe I can harass Jason Lutes long enough he will eventually cave and do it.  I can dream, can’t I?  So, if any comic artists happen to stumble upon this, and have been wanting to break into the industry – and also happen to not care that it does not involve superheroes – feel free to drop me a line.  I hate not being able to draw – in fact, I’ve often joked that is why I write. 

I need sleep.

Tags: , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Sigh … still searching for the right comic book artist”

  1. Tim H Says:

    That sounds really interesting, have you tried posting over at the comic book resources forum, http://www.comicbookresources.com? Maybe post an ad at the coming New York Comic Con if you’re in the area, (and providing you’re still looking for someone).

  2. drobbins Says:

    Thanks – I haven’t tried that place yet, though I’ve visited the forums and the site before … I am still looking for someone, by the way, and actually I was thinking about giving my search for an artist another big push sometime soon … this will help my motivation. Anyway, thanks for reading!

  3. urbanmagic Says:

    how is the project now? sounds interesting…

Leave a Reply

