Have you read the latest post at zxytsytszx.blogpot.com!?

Yes, that is a sentence you will never hear again.  I hate using the Google blog search because it only produces results like that.  For the most part, Google does a great job of being a sort of “one stop shop” for all sorts of basic Web functions.  Gmail has been great, and I really have to commend them on staying vigilant about the spam filter.  I have yet to have a single spam mail come through (knock on wood), though I have seen a marked increase in the number of spam mails being collected in the filter.  It bugs me, but I can live with it; I suppose the most frustrating thing about it is how helpless – at a certain point – I am to do anything to stop Julio21 (at) 123click.cl (just a name I made up) from sending out junk mail.  I’d love to be able to pull something off even remotely similar to the classic “scamming the Powerbook scammer” story.  That has got to be one the best acts of dispensing justice against spammers.  If you’ve never read the account, it’s a great story. 

Anyway, despite Google being a great resource, I think it was a mistake for them to get in bed with Blogger.  The blog search function is virtually useless, due to the sheer volume of spam blogs.  I can type-in a pretty specific search, and end up with over half of the results on the first page being spam blogs.  And that is a better-than-usual result.  It makes me wonder if Blogger can institue some sort of “scorched earth” policy on its inactive accounts, and allow for reporting of spam blogs (which would only work if they would enforce it).  I haven’t used my blogs there in a long long while, due to number of spam comments, coupled with being rather disappointed altogether with Blogger features – which pale compared to something as great as WordPress. 

Speaking of WordPress, I’m supposed to renew my domain soon, and hopefully I’ll have a wordpress installation back up.  I really like wordpress.com – it can really produce some interesting reading – but I miss being able to set up a blog the way I want to.  Granted, what they do offer here is great, especially for a free blog, and while the custom CSS is a great idea, I still want a little more hands-on control over my theme and such.  Maybe after I renew my domain I’ll try out the domain mapping, with which I am completely unfamiliar. 

Anyhow, spam blogs – grrr.  Damn you zxytsytszx!  Its a shame to see the potential for a more widespread exchange of ideas being hindered by replica watches, penis enlargement, and penny stocks.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

