The Pull List: 1/30/08

There is a lot of crap that hit the stands today.  Unfortunately, many comic readers will pick up most of it, and, as usual, miss the stuff that was really good.  There wasn’t much worth getting in today’s batch of comics, but there was one that is an absolute can’t miss.  Y The Last Man #60

Y 60Despite being late, the final issue of one of the very best comics in many years delivers all one could hope for.  I will admit, I was just as sad as I was excited to finally read the issue; over the years only a handful of comics have made me anticipate the next issue in the same way Y The Last Man did, such as The Preacher, or The Sandman, to name a few (and there isn’t many more on that list).  I remember reading an interview a few years ago in which Brian K. Vaughn (writer) said he already knew what the last panel on the last page of this issue would be, and now having seen it, I have to say that his execution from issue #1 to now has been masterful. 

I have also been a big, big fan of artist Pia Guerra, who’s work on the series has been perfect.  I’ve seen a lot of criticism of her work on this series, and I just don’t get it; my sense, however, are that these are the same people who would prefer mindless stories (or perhaps no stories at all) with lots of flashy artwork.  These people couldn’t be more wrong, if you ask me.  I think she was the best possible choice for the artist, and her work just translates Vaughn’s script into a book that is very cinematic, yet still driven by character over action. 

If you have never read Y The Last Man, start now.  No, really, now.  Go.  I’ll wait … Almost the entire series is out in trades now, and now that it has officially ended, I’m sure Vertigo won’t wait too long to put the last volume on the shelves.  Please, stop reaffirming Marvel and DC’s belief that you are an idiot and would rather buy all two or three variant covers of the same comic, than pick up something new and good. 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

