iPress: an idea for WordPress

First, this is probably not a “new” idea at all, and in fact there are probably some widgets out there that will essentially do this, sort of. But I am not sure it would be the same thing. Anyhow, after the recent disappointment from Google via their new iGoogle, and then trying out stuff like Netvibes, Pageflakes, and Protopages, it occurred to me that the incorporation of a “home page” service just seems like a natural, organic step for the blog, in particular one like WordPress.

Just to be clear, I’m not talking about the home page of a blog (or the dashboard), but a home page for your browser that is customizable – you know, like iGoogle or any of the alternatives I mentioned above. I imagine it would be something like yourblogame.wordpress.com/wp-homepage/ (assuming it was hosted at wordpress.com). I could see this raising a lot of questions, though; for instance, would it be hosted on someone else’s server, or would it be on your own server, where perhaps your own blog resides? I guess both, with limitations on a home page hosted elsewhere (similar to how free blogs on wordpress.com work now). Would it be integrated into a WP installation (perhaps in a wp-homepage folder), or simply able to run alongside it (similar to how bbPress does)? Anyway, it was just a thought I had the other day during a peak point of frustration moving all my home page stuff over to Netvibes. It just seemed like it would make so much sense – I mean, if you already have a customized blog, why wouldn’t you have a custom home page in the same place?

Perhaps there are some major things I am overlooking as to why this wouldn’t work; I really don’t know. But if not, it would be neat; and if WordPress liked the idea, well, maybe then they’ll give me a job as a Happiness Engineer … I can still dream, can’t I?

Tags:

One Response to “iPress: an idea for WordPress”

  1. drobbins Says:

    Yeah, I’ve noticed; I was hoping they would just hire me on wit and charm … that or a golden ticket in my Wonka Bar. I really just want to be able to write “Happiness Engineer” on my resume … it would seemingly account for a lot.

Leave a Reply

